Skip to content

Diverse Children’s Books

Friday, April 24, 2015

Since the birth of my daughter I’ve reminded myself that there are things that I would like to do for her that I was unable to do when I was younger.  One of those things was for her to have access to a diverse reading list and it’s been so much fun finding books for her and I wanted to share some of the books that I have found for her so far:

The Princess and The Pea by Rachel Isadora

A retelling of the classic fairy tale but retold with African fok art. This author has a number of books that are done in this style to different European fairy tales.  Absolutely beautiful.

The Cajun Cornbread Boy by Dianne De Las Casas

The Gingerbread Man retold Cajun style.

The Green Frogs by Yumi Heo

Two green frogs who love to disobey their mother.

Mufaro’s Beautiful Daughters by John Steptoe

A Cinderella story set in Zimbabwe.

Lon Po Po by Ed Young

A Red Riding Hood story set in China

The Rough Face Girl by Rafe Martin

From Algonquin Indian folklore comes one of the most haunting, powerful versions of the Cinderella tale ever told.

This is just a small part of my daughter’s growing library, I hope that you’ll find them as delightful as I did.

From → musings

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

