Skip to content

A chance to breathe before the crush

Friday, September 18, 2009

I get to have a short break before the onset of fall quarter at Evergreen and it’s a much needed and appreciated break from the rigors of college life. The summer writing class, while definitely worth taking, wasn’t quite what I was hoping for in terms of finding meaning in my own writing. The class itself was a little too unstructured for my taste. Nancy had (what felt like a bajillion) many different handouts at the beginning of the quarter meticulously detailing each and every assignment and what they were supposed to entail but it got bogged down with so much information that you didn’t know what was due when.

The hikes were amazing. It made me realize how much I missed doing this like that, just driving and spending the day out of town. I used to do that on a pretty regular basis and I wish I could find the impetus to do it again. I didn’t use to be this person who needed to have someone come with them when they go out and do things and used to in fact, snark at my friends when they exhibited those qualities.

The valuable things that I did learn? Writing a novel is very, very difficult. I was never under the illusion that it would be easy but I didn’t think it would be this hard either. I’m still plugging away at it, and in addition, have a couple of other story ideas gnawing away at me and so I have plenty of writing projects to keep myself busy for quite some time, in fact, I’m scheming to see if I can somehow write an independent learning contract at some point this coming year to include the research I need to be doing for my historical YA novel. I don’t really have any doubts that I’ll be unable to, Evergreen rocks that way.

So… I have about 2 weeks to plan and organize for the coming madness (20 credit hours registered for, yo!), put together the Ikea bookshelf that’s been chillin’ in the guest bedroom (that’s a project for this weekend), and spend as much time I can playing games since I won’t be able to…. actually, I might, there are rumors that a class that I’m registered for is incredibly easy. Next month, Demon Soul’s drops and the month after that, Dragon’s Age.

From → musings

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

