Skip to content

Why I love Evergreen

Monday, May 11, 2009

I went to the woods
because I wanted to live deliberately.

I wanted to live deep,
and suck out all the narrow of life.

To put to rout all that was not life, and not,
when I had come to die
discover that I had not lived. ~ Thoreau

Our assignment next week is to not to come to class.  You have to love Evergreen.  Classes for next week have been canceled and we’ve been instructed to take a page from Thoreau and to “live deliberately”, to use the time we have next week for anything we want to but to perform those tasks deliberately.

All too often, we sleepwalk through a great portion of our lives; akin to mindless braineating zombies, we trudge through the monotony of our days not really thinking about what we’re doing and why we’re doing it.

I began my deliberate soujorn into more meaningful living by skipping class on Wednesday because my little sister had flown into town unannounced and wanted to have dinner. She lives in NYC and the last time I saw her was 6 months ago when i got to spend damn near 3 weeks with her.  It was amazing, and I love NY but not enough to live there, by the time I got home, I was exhausted.

As is my habit and obsession with making lists, I was prepared to make one with the activities that I had planned on doing this week but decided against it, as it was probably not in the spirit of Thoreau and so this week will be lived vicariously and unplanned and I plan on updating my blog with the results.

From → musings

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

