Skip to content

Day 2 – Write On! Workshop

Sunday, April 5, 2009

I’m making a lot of really good progress in my creative writing this weekend, of course it’s at the expense of my work in the program, but I have a lot of free time next week with the boss being gone and will be able to catch up… provided I don’t procrastinate or decide that, in my new zeal for writing, forsake all the reading and writing that’s required of me, but I don’t anticipte that happening.  *I hope*

I’ve written about a half a chapter and had it evaluated by Peter Bacho, who’s writing, I love and me being needy today and needing validation, had it validated that yes, I’m off to an excellent start and that I should attempt to finish my novel by the end of the summer.  This should be my goal.  I probably will, if I can mange to worm myself into the Summer Writing Workshop this summer, if it’s offered… *hope, hope* If not, I’ll still make the attempt but I don’t know if I’ll be able to finish it.

I’ve written a partial outline, and a cast of characters.  I’ve finally identified my antagonist and setting, time period.  I just need to continue adding to this chapter.  My setting is Lawton, OK… having lived there previously and now using the creepy street view feature, looked up my old neighborhood, which is barely recognizable.  The school building itself, looks exactly the same, but the playground area is now gone, turned into a parking lot, it looks as if the neighborhood is in decline and I couldn’t identify the house I lived in on Mission Blvd. I think it’s gone, there’s a long row of apartments at the end of the street that were never there when I lived there.  It was a little bittersweet.  I had thought to use the location and set it in the present but I don’t want to use the Lawton that is now, it’s bleak and dreary.  I’ll use the Lawton that was or the Lawton that may never have been except in my own head.

I’ve also come up with a couple of short story ideas that maybe I can finish next week and start to submit them for various publications. I finally bought my textbooks for this quarter and will start my reading tonight.  There’s a group of people going out tonight and I had thought I might join them but I don’t think I’ll be able to, too much reading and then there’s the seminar response and I really want to get a jump on my position paper this week.  Readings are going to start soon, must go.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Hi,

    Good luck on your writing. We just finished a documentary with Ray Bradbury in it. Also, we are connected with a magazine called Dark Discoveries. If you are writing dark or edgy short stories, please submit them for consideration.

Leave a Reply

