Skip to content

Yes… I am thankful

Thursday, November 22, 2007

This is the first year that I can genuinely say that I’m looking forward to Thanksgiving tomorrow and I’m feeling hopeful about the coming year.  It’s been a very, very, VERY long time since I’ve been able to say or even express some feeling of hope in some way.  

I’ve made a lot of mistakes in my life and I’ve hurt a lot of people.  I’ve made some mistakes that will always stay with me, I’ve been feeling for the longest time that those mistakes have ruined me.  I’ve been looking at my life as though there are nothing but closed doors all around me.  Recently, I decided that I just couldn’t go through life anymore that way.  I was miserable.  I was making people around me miserable.  I have things that I want to DO and not just think, dream or talk about. 

I have so many blessings in my life right now:

Kim: my lil sis, best friend, the only person on earth who will ever “get” me; I MISS U.  I know that right now, your going through your own personal struggles and that life in general never seems smooth for you, but I’m so proud of you.  I’m proud that you actually left Olympia, when everybody doubted you.  I’m proud that you moved to NYC, and attended the makeup school that you wanted to go to.  You’re such a bright, beautiful and talented young lady ( I am biased… I admit it); don’t worry and stress too much because you will always make the right decisions and if you ever need a sounding board, you know that me, mom and dad are always just a phone call away.

Carmie: my long time bodacious bud; I’m really lucky to have such a good friend in you.  I love that I can be completely strange with you and that you are just as strange back.  It gives me hope because after all, we can’t be the only completely strange brown people around….  Can we?….

Mom & Dad:  the fact that the two of you are still together astounds me…. really…. I love you both so much, and the fact that neither of you haven’t disowned me by now speaks volumes about how much you love me.  I know this sounds really weird, but I really did believe for a long time, when I was younger, that neither of you loved or wanted me.  Needless to say, I know better now. 

Happy Turkey Day people!!!

Turkey GIR

From → musings

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

