Skip to content

New Beginnings….

Friday, October 12, 2007

I suppose I’ve jumped onto the “blog train” rather late, while I kept a very random blog on my Myspace page it never fit into a niche and I wrote in it very sporadically.  I jumped on the “myspace-train” rather late as well and while I hear the kids are now Facebooking it, I just can’t bring myself to add another username and password to the neverending list in my head (and notebook).  Besides, I’m getting too old for this shit. 

But I do want to use this blog to talk about some of my passions:  reading (mainly fantasy, sci-fi, horror, splatterpunk, bizarro and graphic novels), video games (RPG’s) and maybe some random personal musings from time to time. 

I’m at that point in my reading where even though I have a very large queue of books waiting for me to read them, I’m really ambivilent about getting started.  Time is an issue, as in I don’t have enough of it, but content is another.  Specifically, fantasy content, it took me awhile but I’m so bored with the current crop of fantasy schlock out there at the moment.  It took awhile but I finally got tired of reading about adventures with people who don’t look like me.  That always take place in Europe. Lately, I’ve been seeking out other books that included people of color (POC) and other realms other then Europe, fantasy Europe, middle earth or ripped off versions of middle earth.  And found books by Charles Saunders, Nalo Hopkinson, Octavia Butler, Ursula K. Le Guin; I regret not looking for them sooner, not reading them sooner but it also caused me to ask, why couldn’t I have found them as easily.  Growing up, I was on a first name basis with most of my librarians and yet no one ever suggested any of these authors to me growing up.  Even now, as I wander the library in Olympia, Washington, I can barely find any of these books and while I understand that I live in the Pacific Northwest (Future Homeland of Aryan Nations); Olympia is supposed to be fairly progressive. 

But I hope that if I help put the word out there, other brown people, who are tired of the “sameness” of the books they read as well, will realize that there are other options for them out there. 

From → musings

One Comment
  1. Hey, great post, very well written.

Leave a Reply

